5 Steps towards FSC certification

5 Steps towards FSC certification

FSC does not issue certificates itself. The certification process is carried out by independent organizations called certification bodies. These certification bodies assess forest management and chain of custody operations against FSC standards. Only FSC accredited certification bodies are authorized to issue FSC certificates.

How to gain FSC certification

  • FSC CertificateContact one or several FSC accredited certification bodies. To give you a first estimate regarding cost and time needed the certification body will need some basic information about your operation. The certification body will provide you with information about the requirements for FSC certification.
  • You decide which certification body you would like to work with and sign an agreement with the certification body.
  • A certification audit takes place to assess your company’s qualifications for certification.
  • The data collected at the audit is the basis of the audit report based on which the certification body makes the certification decision.
  • If the certification decision is positive, you receive a FSC certificate. If the audit revealed that your operation is not yet in full compliance with FSC requirements, then you can go for further audits after you have implemented the changes suggested in the certification report.

How long is the certificate valid for?

FSC certificates are valid for five years. The FSC accredited certification body will conduct annual surveillance audits to verify your continued compliance with FSC certification requirements.

These steps are the same independent on whether you want to become forest management or chain of custody certified.

Click here to get help


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Wordpress SEO Plugin by SEOPressor